TTDOTATT 122
Agoda Doubles Premium Supply, Signs Capella as Search for Five-Star Rises
Agoda has doubled premium supply in four years and signed Capella's 12 properties, but discloses no luxury booking data as five-star searches rise up to 15%.

Itinerary
- Agoda says it doubled premium accommodation supply over the past four years.
- A September deal with Capella Hotel Group adds 12 Capella and Patina properties across eight markets.
- Five-star searches in 2025 rose 15% in Kuala Lumpur, 10% in Bangkok and 2% in Bali versus 2024.
- Accor and H World estimate direct booking costs at 4-5% of revenue versus OTA commissions of 10-15%.
- Agoda has not disclosed luxury booking volumes or rates.
Agoda says it has doubled its supply of premium accommodation over the past four years, the clearest signal yet that the Booking Holdings-owned online travel agency (OTA) is pushing upscale inventory into Asia's distribution channels.
Andrew Smith, senior vice president of supply at Agoda, told Skift the platform had "doubled" premium supply in four years. The claim comes without disclosed booking volumes or rates, leaving supply counts and search growth as the only public evidence.
New signings back the supply push. In September, Agoda signed a partnership with Singapore-based Capella Hotel Group covering 12 properties across eight markets. The agreement spans the full Capella and Patina portfolio, including Capella Bangkok, Capella Hanoi and Capella Ubud in Bali. Capella Singapore is listed on Agoda for the first time.
Smith said the deal gives Capella access to Agoda's customer base and to data on travel preferences across markets. He did not say whether the agreement includes joint marketing, preferred placement, exclusive rates or loyalty benefits, and Agoda did not answer Skift's questions on those terms.
Agoda is also operating a flagship store for Marina Bay Sands that sells Paiza and Sands Collection rooms plus experiences.
What do the search numbers show?
Agoda reported searches for five-star stays rose in 2025 versus 2024 in three of its top luxury destinations:
- Kuala Lumpur: up 15%
- Bangkok: up 10%
- Bali: up 2%
Search demand is not booking demand. Agoda has not disclosed luxury booking volumes or rates, so the numbers show intent, not revenue.
What does it cost hotels?
Distribution economics remain the open question for luxury operators weighing the channel. Accor and H World have estimated direct bookings cost 4% to 5% of revenue, against OTA commissions of 10% to 15%.
That gap is the trade-off: Capella gains Agoda's customer base and market-level data, but pays commission rates roughly double to triple the cost of direct channels on every booking the platform delivers.
Can Agoda sell five-star?
The company's luxury case currently rests on supply counts and search growth. Until Agoda discloses booking figures for the segment, hotel partners and competitors cannot verify whether travelers are paying five-star rates on the platform.
For premium suppliers, the September Capella deal and the Marina Bay Sands store mark a widening of OTA access to inventory that has historically leaned on direct and luxury-travel-agent channels. Whether that shifts share depends on conversion data Agoda has yet to publish.
via Skift (Source)
More from Elena Vasquez
Show full bio
News editor covering regulation, policy and their impact on Tourism industry coverage for trade professionals at Travel Trade Desk.
451 articles
Also boarding · Related articles
- AGO02:40
Agoda Ties Up With Emerging Travel Group to Widen Hotel Supply
- AGO11:25
Agoda and Emerging Travel Group Sign Strategic Partnership
- AGO12:17
Agoda Signs Strategic Partnership With Emerging Travel Group
- AGO08:50
Agoda and Emerging Travel Group Sign Strategic Partnership
- EME19:57
Emerging Travel Group and Agoda Sign Strategic Partnership